Envisat Home 15-Jul-2014     
Programme Overview
Programme, Monday 22/09
Programme, Tuesday 23/09, Building 14
Programme, Tuesday 23/09, Magellan
Programme, Wednesday, 24/09
Programme, Poster Session, 24/09
Programme, Thursday, 25/09
Programme, Friday, 26/09
Workshop registration, accomodation, and travel
Workshop Flyer
Abstract submission
ESA Speci
Poster Instructions
Conclusions Recommendations
Author Instructions

2nd MERIS/(A)ATSR User Workshop

22nd to 26th September 2008 ESA/ESRIN Frascati (Rome) Italy

Announcement and call for papers


The European Space Agency is organising its second joint MERIS and (A)ATSR workshop, which will be hosted at ESA ESRIN in Frascati, Italy from 22 to 26 September 2008.




  • Present the latest results and status of research and development projects (including AO and cat-1).
  • Review capabilities and achievements in the use of MERIS and (A)ATSR data for applications development in the land, marine and atmosphere domains.
  • Update MERIS and (A)ATSR data users on instrument performance and product quality.
  • Formulate recommendations for improved data access and utilization, including ordering and analysis tools, algorithms and new product development.
  • Foster enhanced collaboration between MERIS and (A)ATSR research groups
  • Inform users on the current status of the GMES Sentinel 2 and 3 payloads.




The workshop is open to researchers, scientists and students working in either public or private sector organisations active in the field of remote sensing with (A)ATSR and MERIS data and to representatives from national, European and International space agencies.




The workshop is intended to address the utilisation of MERIS and (A)ATSR data for remote sensing of open oceans, coastal waters, land surfaces and atmospheric processes

The workshop will be structured to include the following:

  • Dedicated sessions for presentation of papers and posters selected by the Scientific Committee
  • Invited talks from key experts
  • Round table discussions
  • Demonstrations of software tools  



Submission of Abstracts 8 April 2008
Notification of Acceptance 16 May 2008
Issue of Preliminary Programme 31 May 2008
Registration 1 August 2008
Release of Final Programme at the Workshop
Submission of Full Paper 26 September 2008


Abstract Submission

Abstract submission is now closed.



Click here to access the workshop registration, accomodation, and travel page. The deadline for registration is 1 August 2008.


Language and Fees

The official language of the workshop is English. No participation fees will be charged. Participants are expected to finance their own travel and accommodation expenses.



Contact Point

Workshop Co-ordination

Earth Observation R & D Team

e-mail: envmail@esa.int


Hotel and Transportation

ESA Conference Bureau




Scientific Committee

D. Antoine        Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche, France
F. Baret            INRA Bioclimatologie, Site agroparc, France
I. Barton           CSIRO Marine Research, Australia
M. Caetano      Portuguese Geographic Institute, Portugal
G. Corlett         University of Leicester, UK
G. De Leeuw    TNO, Netherlands
R. Doerffer       GKSS Institute for Coastal Research, Germa
C. Donlon        Meteorological Office, UK
J. Fischer          FUB Institut fur Weltraumwissenschaften, Germany
N. Gobron       JRC Space Applications Institute, Italy
J. Gower          Institute of Ocean Sciences, Canada
D. Llewellyn-Jones       University of Leicester, UK
P. Minnett        University of Miami, United States
J. Moreno        University of Valencia, Spain
J-P. Muller       University College London, UK
C. Mutlow        Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK
P. North           Swansea University, UK
A.J. Prata         NILU Norwegian Institute for Air Research, Norway
T. Pyhälahti Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE), Finnland
M. Rast GEO Secratariat, Switzerland
R. Santer          Université du Littoral Cote d'Opale, France
K. Sorensen     Norwegian Institute for Water Research, Norway

J. Yoder

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, United States



ESA Organizing Committee

Peter Regner

Philippe Goryl

Simon Pinnock

Andy Zmuda

Yves-Louis Desnos

Gordon Campbell



  Higher level     pr   Print version             Last modified: 10-Feb-2010